Orange – My Mobile Ubuntu Box

Ass. Wr. Wb.

Last Ramadhan i got my self my very first laptop a Compaq Presario C300, it’s a entry level laptop without any operating system bundled, the spesifications are :

  • Intel Celeron M 420 (533 Mhz FSB and 1 Mb Cache)
  • Intel 945 Chipset
  • 256 Mb DDR2 SDRAM
  • 60 GB 7200 SATA HDD
  • Wide Bright View (crystal) 1280×800 resolution LCD
  • Altec Lansing speakers
  • Wifi

For a entry level laptop this thing is loaded with feauters

2 responses to “Orange – My Mobile Ubuntu Box

  1. Have you got the wireless networking and the built in modem working?

    I just installed Kubuntu on one of these for a friend and I have not sorted those out yet.

    I know it can be done, I was wondering how difficult it was.

  2. If your friends laptop use the broadcom wireless, you can use ndiswrapper to make it work.

    As soon as i have the time, i’ll jot down the steps :p

Leave a Reply

